New non-permanent members elected to Security Council

Listen /

The General Assembly elected Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Poland and Peru as new non-permanent members of the Security Council for two-year terms starting on 1 January 2018.

Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Poland and Peru were elected to serve on the UN Security Council on Friday.

Voting took place in the General Assembly Hall at UN Headquarters in New York, and the new non-permanent members will begin their terms on 1 January next year.

They will be joined by the Netherlands, which will serve a one-year term following a bilateral arrangement with Italy.

More details from Matthew Wells.

The Security Council consists of five permanent members, and 10 non-permanent members, elected to serve terms of two years each.

Each year, five new non-permanent members are chosen by the General Assembly, though this year saw an exception as Italy and the Netherlands made a special arrangement, endorsed by the General Assembly, to serve one year each.

The Security Council has the responsibility of maintaining international peace and security but is also at the centre of UN efforts to bring nations together.

All Member States agree to accept and carry out its decisions.

The United States, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom hold permanent seats, and non-permanent seats are distributed equally among the regions of the world.

The results were read out following the voting, by the President of the General Assembly, Peter Thomson.

"Having obtained the required two-thirds majority, and the largest number of votes, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru and Poland, are elected members of the Security Council for a two year term beginning on 1 January 2018."

Matthew Wells, United Nations.

Duration: 1'05"

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




December 2017
« Nov