Security Council affirms role of nuclear test-ban treaty in promoting peace

Listen /

John Kerry. UN Photo/Manuel Elias

Countries which have not yet signed or ratified a global treaty banning nuclear testing have been urged by the international community to do so without delay.

This follows the adoption of a resolution by the UN Security Council on Friday commemorating 20 years since the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) opened for signature.

Dianne Penn reports.

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty prohibits nuclear explosions anywhere on Earth.

The Security Council resolution affirms that its entry into force will contribute to the enhancement of international peace and security.

While most of the world has signed the CTBT, it has to be ratified by a total of 44 countries which possess nuclear technology, before it can enter into force.

The resolution was tabled by the United States.

Here's Secretary of State, John Kerry:

"I want to emphasize, the resolution does not impose illegal prohibition on testing, nor does it compel any government to adopt new reporting requirements. But it does reinforce the core purposes and objectives of the CTBT itself: to diminish our reliance on nuclear devices, to reduce competition among nuclear powers, and to promote responsible disarmament."

Although the United States has signed the treaty, it is among eight nations which have yet to ratify the CTBT.

The others are China, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, North Korea and Pakistan.

Dianne Penn, United Nations.

Duration: 1’14″

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




November 2017
« Oct