Four new non-permanent members of Security Council chosen

Listen /

Election of New Non-Permanent Members of Security Council. UN Photo/Loey Felipe

Four new non-permanent member countries have been chosen to serve on the UN Security Council.

Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden will serve for two years beginning in January 2017.

After voting left Italy and the Netherlands deadlocked for the final and fifth place on the Council, the two countries have suggested serving one year each.

Deganit Perez has more details.

The primary responsibility of the Security Council is the maintenance of international peace and security.

It can impose sanctions or even authorize the use of force.

Its decisions are legally binding on all of the UN's 193 Member States.

The body is made up of 15 countries, five permanent and 10 non-permanent members.

Although each country has one vote, it's the five permanent members, China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States which wield ultimate power through the right to veto any decision made by other Council Members.

The 10 non-permanent members serve for two years, five rotating in and out every year.

Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden will replace Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela which step down at the end of the year.

The General Assembly's group of western nations is expected to endorse Italy and the Netherlands splitting their term on the council, with Italy serving in 2017 and the Netherlands in 2018.

Deganit Perez, United Nations

Duration: 59″

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




November 2017
« Oct