New Security Council members elected

Listen /

Conference officers hold up empty ballot boxes for inspection by designated tellers prior to the vote. UN Photo/Cia Pak

Five new countries have been elected to non-permanent seats on the UN Security Council.

Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay were elected Thursday to take up two-year positions on the Council starting January 2016.

They all ran unopposed and will now join the other five non-permanent countries currently serving on the Council, as well as the five permanent members.

Veronica Reeves has the story.

Although a seat on the Security Council is coveted by many countries due the prestige and influence it holds, some 68 nations have never sat on the 15-member body.

Ion Botnaru, Director of the General Assembly Affairs Division explains why.

"To become member of the Security Council, you need to have an agenda, you need to have a programme, you need to have resources to build a team, to get information. If you are a small state and you don't have embassies covering sensitive areas, especially conflict areas, it would be very difficult for that delegation to follow their responsibilities within the Security Council."

The new members will join the other non-permanent members on the Council – Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela.

But the real power lies with the permanent members – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States – which can veto any issue that comes before the Council.

Veronica Reeves, United Nations.

Duration: 1’00″

Filed under Today's News.
UN News Update
UN News Update
Updated Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




January 2018
« Dec