Five new-non permanent members of Security Council elected

Listen /

General Assembly Hall. UN Photo/Yubi Hoffmann

Five new non-permanent members of the Security Council were elected on Thursday.

In three rounds of voting, the 193-member General Assembly elected Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela to serve on the Council for two-year terms beginning on 1 January 2015.

Angola, Malaysia, Venezuela and New Zealand were elected in the first round of voting.

Spain contested with Turkey to fill the seat open to the Western European and Other States Group was elected after two additional rounds of balloting.

The President of the General Assembly, Sam Kutesa announced the final results.

"Having obtained the required two-thirds majority and the largest number of votes, Spain is elected member of the Security Council. The following states have thus been elected members of the Security Council: Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela." (22")

The 15-member Security Council, whose resolutions are binding on Member States, is charged with maintaining international peace and security.

However, no resolution of the Security Council can be adopted if any of the five permanent members namely, China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States votes against it.

Stephanie Coutrix, United Nations.

Duration: 1’27″

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




December 2017
« Nov