Asia-Pacific countries make historic call for a regional economic community

Listen /

Noeleen Heyzer

Asia-Pacific countries unanimously adopted a landmark declaration at a United Nations forum of ministers, outlining the road map towards a regional economic community.

Top government leaders, ministers and senior officials from 36 countries adopted the 'Bangkok Declaration on Regional Economic Cooperation and Integration in Asia and the Pacific,' at the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) on 20 December, resolving to work closer together to build an integrated market, seamless transport and energy connectivity, financial cooperation, and enhance resilience to address vulnerabilities and risks of natural disasters.

The four-pillared agenda of regional cooperation and integration outlined in the Bangkok Declaration was prepared following a mandate from Asia-Pacific countries attending the annual ESCAP Commission Session in May 2012 which had as its theme: 'Growing Together: Economic Integration for an Inclusive and Sustainable Asia-Pacific Century'.

ESCAP Executive Secretary Dr. Noeleen Heyzer told the conference "This is an historic and defining moment in the history of ESCAP, as we take new steps with our member states to deepen and broaden the process of regional economic cooperation and integration, and as we work even more closely together to ensure that this will truly be the Asia-Pacific century," adding, "This declaration holds the promise of region-wide cooperation and policy-making in finance, connectivity, and addressing shared vulnerabilities.”

Donn Bobb, United Nations.

Duration: 1’22″

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




November 2017
« Oct