President of General Assembly calls for ratification of nuclear test ban treaty

Listen /

President of the General Assembly’s sixty-seventh session Vuk Jeremić. [UN Photo/JC McIlwaine]

The President of the General Assembly Vuk Jeremić has called on states that have not signed and ratified the nuclear test ban treaty to do so.

Mr. Jeremić spoke at a meeting of the General Assembly on Thursday to mark the International Day Against Nuclear Tests under the theme "The Path to Zero".

He said the opening for signature of the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996, was a watershed moment after more than 2,000 atomic weapons tests had been carried out at over 60 locations across the globe.

Since, then, the President of the General Assembly added "10 have regretfully been carried out, in violation of the internationally-agreed moratorium."

"We may have traveled a long way on the "Path to Zero," but we are still far from having arrived at our ultimate destination. The CTBT has not yet entered into force, despite the fact that 183 Member States have signed it, and 159 have ratified it. I take this opportunity to respectfully urge those that have not, to do so as expeditiously as possible, and so help lift the threatening cloud of obliteration that still hangs over humanity." (29")

For the nuclear test ban treaty to come into force, it has to be signed and ratified by China, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, North Korea, Pakistan and the United States.

Derrick Mbatha, United Nations.

Duration: 1’36″

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




November 2017
« Oct