Global community urged to support nuclear test ban treaty

nuclear testing site

The international community has been urged by the President of the General Assembly, Joseph Deiss, to ensure the implementation of a treaty banning nuclear tests.

The call came as the Assembly on Friday held a special session to mark the International Day against Nuclear tests, officially celebrated on 29 August.

Mr. Deiss commended Kazakhstan, which unilaterally banned nuclear tests 20 years ago, for playing a lead role in campaigning for an end to nuclear tests.

He said that the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT), which was approved in 1996, is unfortunately still not in force.

“The current international moratorium on nuclear tests respected by almost all states is not a substitute for the full implementation of the obligations contained in the CTBT. I urge, therefore, the international community to undertake all necessary efforts to achieve universal adoption of the treaty and to pursue all necessary ratifications for it to be fully operative."

Duration: 31″

Although 154 states have signed and ratified the nuclear test ban treaty, nine more, many of which have nuclear weapons, need to ratify it before it can come into force.

These states are the United States, China, India, Pakistan, North Korea, Israel, Egypt, Iran and Indonesia.

Filed under Today's News.
UN Radio Daily News Programme
UN Radio Daily News Programme
Updated at 1800 GMT, Monday to Friday
Loading the player ...




December 2017
« Nov