8093rd Security Council Meeting: Election of members of International Court of Justice

Preview Language:   Six Official
SIX OFFICIAL 09-Nov-2017 00:43:58
Security Council, General Assembly, elect four judges to International Court of Justice at 8092nd and 8093rd meetings.
Six Official
Other Formats
The Security Council, meeting twice today independently from but concurrently with the General Assembly, elected four candidates to the International Court of Justice for nine year terms, beginning on 6 February 2018.

In the election, six candidates were contesting five positions for nine year terms, beginning on 6 February 2018. Five of the candidates are current members of the International Court of Justice: Ronny Abraham (France), the incumbent President of the Court; Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia), the incumbent Vice President; Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil); Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom); and Dalveer Bhandari (India). The sixth candidate is Nawaf Salam, currently the Permanent Representative of Lebanon to the United Nations.

After five rounds of voting, the Council re elected Mr. Abraham, Mr. Cançado Trindade and Mr. Yusuf to their seats, also selecting Mr. Salam.

Voting took place simultaneously in the Security Council and the General Assembly. Under the terms of the Court’s Statute, a candidate obtaining an absolute majority of votes in both bodies is considered elected. In the Council, eight votes constitute an absolute majority and no distinction is made between permanent and non-permanent Council members. By contrast, all 193 Member States in the General Assembly are electors. Accordingly, for the purpose of today’s election, 97 votes constituted an absolute majority in the Assembly. For General Assembly results, see Press Release GA/11971.

The Court’s composition on 6 February 2018, not including the candidate still to be elected, will be as follows (terms expire on 5 February of the year in parentheses): Ronny Abraham (France) (2027); Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco) (2024); Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil) (2027); James Richard Crawford (Australia) (2024); Joan E. Donoghue (United States) (2024); Giorgio Gaja (Italy) (2021); Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation) (2024); Xue Hanqin (China) (2021); Hisashi Owada (Japan) (2021); Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) (2021); Peter Tomka (Slovakia) (2021); and Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) (2027).

Located in The Hague, Netherlands, the International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Composed of 15 judges, it adjudicates between States and its legal opinions are binding. The Court also issues advisory opinions when requested to do so.

The meeting began at 10:08 a.m. and was suspended at 12:55 p.m. Resuming at 4:13 p.m., it ended at 6:53 p.m.
Parent ID
Asset ID